8 أشياء لا تعرفها عن هذه المكسرات الشهيرة

Publication:

Region:

تعد المكسرات من أفضل الوجبات الخفيفة لأي نظام غذائي صحي ومتوازن. على الرغم من احتوائها على نسبة عالية من الدهون، إلا أنها مليئة بالمعادن والألياف المغذية التي قد تؤثر بشكل كبير على صحتك. إذا كنت من محبي المكسرات، فإليك بعض الحقائق المثيرة للاهتمام والفوائد الصحية حول المكسرات المفضلة لديك.

  • الفول السوداني

الفول السوداني أكثر أنواع المكسرات استهلاكًا بنسبة 36% من إجمالي استهلاك المكسرات على مستوى العالم. يشيع استخدام الفول السوداني جدًا في الولايات المتحدة، حيث ينفق الأمريكيون ما يقرب من 800 مليون دولار سنويًا على زبدة الفول السوداني. المفاجأة أن الفول السوداني لا يعتبر من المكسرات، بل من البقوليات، التي تنمو تحت الأرض جنبًا إلى جنب مع الفول والبازلاء. الفول السوداني غني بالدهون الصحية، والبروتينات، والألياف، وفيتامين (ب)، والبوتاسيوم ويُعتبر وجبة خفيفة ممتازة لمرضى السكري قد تساعد في السيطرة على مستويات السكر في الدم لأنه منخفض الكربوهيدرات. ومع ذلك، يجب أن تتناول هذه البقوليات الغنية باعتدال ضمن نظام غذائي صحي متوازن.

  • الكاجو

هل تعلم أن الكاجو من الفواكه؟ يساعد الكاجو، وهو فاكهة تنمو على شجرة استوائية كبيرة، في تعزيز نظام المناعة، فهو مصدر كبير لمضادات الأكسدة وغني بالبروتين.

  • البندق

يشيع استخدام هذه المكسرات اللذيذة في المطبخ التركي، وبالتالي فلا عجب أنه من ألذ المطابخ في العالم وأن تركيا هي أكبر منتج للبندق في العالم حيث تنتج ما يقرب من 75% من الإنتاج العالمي منه. تُعمِّر شجرة البندق عبر الأجيال وتستمر في الإنتاج حتى يتجاوز عمرها 80 عامًا. استخدم الرومان القدماء المشاعل المصنوعة من أغصان البندق في مراسم الزفاف لأنها تمثل السعادة والازدهار. والبندق مغذٍ للغاية فهو غني بفيتامين (ب)، وفيتامين (هـ)، والحديد، والمغنيسيوم، والألياف.

  • الفستق

الفستق نوع آخر من المكسرات يضاف إلى قائمة الفواكه، ويستمد لونه الأخضر الشهير من المحتوى العالي من مضادات الأكسدة به، وهي نفس مضادات الأكسدة الموجودة في الخُضَر. تحتوي الوجبة المكونة من 49 حبة من الفستق على كمية البروتين نفسها الموجودة في بيضة واحدة. في الصين يسمى الفستق “الجوز السعيد” ويرمز في الثقافة الصينية إلى الصحة، والسعادة، والحظ السعيد، فلا عجب إذًا أننا لا نتوقف عن الابتسام أثناء تناول هذه المكسرات اللذيذة. الفستق مليء بالعناصر الغذائية، والمعادن، مثل فيتامين (ب)، والنحاس، والبوتاسيوم. في الواقع، يحتوي الفستق على نسبة بوتاسيوم أكثر من تلك الموجودة في نصف موزة كبيرة.

  • اللوز

إذا كنت من محبي اللوز، فعليك أن تشكر النحل. لا يمكن لأشجار اللوز أن تنمو بمفردها دون مساعدة لقاح النحل. يحظى اللوز أيضًا بشعبية كبيرة بين مصنعي الشوكولاتة، الذين يشترون حوالي 40% من محصول اللوز في العالم. اللوز مفيد أيضًا لأمعائك لأنه يحتوي على عدد كبير من البروبيوتيك (البكتيريا المفيدة)، ما يساعد في الحفاظ على صحة المعدة والأمعاء.

  • الجوز

الجوز أقدم شجرة موجودة على الإطلاق، يعود تاريخها إلى ما قبل 12,000 عام، وهو من أصح المكسرات، حيث يحتوي على كمية عالية جدًا من أوميجا 3، وقد يساعد في تأخير الشيخوخة وإنقاص الوزن.

  • الكستناء

لا شيء يجسد روح موسم الأعياد مثل هذه المكسرات اللذيذة. الكستناء هي المكسرات الوحيدة التي تحتوي على فيتامين (ج) وتوفر حوالي 20% من كمية فيتامين (ج) اليومية. تعتبر الكستناء المكون الأساسي في المارون جلاسيه، الحلوى الفرنسية الباهظة الثمن، التي تتكون من كستناء مجفف ومحلّى، وتحظى بشعبية كبيرة خلال فترة عيد الميلاد.

  • المكاديميا (بندق كوينزلاند)

هل تعلم أن مكسرات المكاديميا تخبر المزارعين متى تكون جاهزة للحصاد؟ عندما تسقط حبات المكاديميا الناضجة من الشجرة، يعلم المزارعون أن وقت الحصاد قد حان. مكسرات المكاديميا ضارة جدًا للكلاب، فإذا كان لديك كلب صغير في المنزل، فتأكد من إبعاده عنها. المكاديميا غنية بأحماض أوميجا 7 الدهنية التي تساعد على تعزيز صحة الجلد، والأظافر، والشعر. قد تساعد أيضًا في تقليل أخطار الإصابة بأمراض القلب، وتعزز صحة الدماغ، وتقلل من خطر الإصابة بمرض السكري.

الآن بعد أن عرفت الكثير عن المكسرات المفضلة لديك، توجه إلى ماركت الواجهة البحرية الذي يقدم مجموعة متنوعة من المكسرات من أكثر من 30 بائع تجزئة يقدمون صفقات مذهلة على المكسرات المحلية والمستوردة. إذا كنت تتوق إلى بعض الكاجو أو تحتاج إلى بعض الصنوبر للحصول على وصفة كبة لذيذة، فإن ماركت الواجهة البحرية هو المكان المناسب.

8 Things You Didn’t Know About These Famous Nuts

Publication:

Region:

Nuts are great snacking partners when it comes to eating a healthy and balanced diet. Despite being high in fat, they are packed with nutritious minerals and fibres that can significantly impact your health. If you are a fan of nuts, here are some interesting facts and health benefits about your favourite nuts.

  1. Peanuts

Peanuts are the most popular nuts consumed; they account for 36% of all nut consumption globally. Peanuts are quite famous in the US, with Americans spending almost $800 million a year on peanut butter. This might come as a surprise to everyone, but peanuts are not really considered nuts they are legumes that grow underground alongside beans and peas. Peanuts are rich with healthy fats, protein, fiber, vitamin B and potassium. Peanuts are an excellent snack for people with diabetes, they can help control blood sugar levels because they are low in carbs. However, you need to have this rich legume in moderation as part of a healthy balanced diet.   

 

  1. Cashews

Did you know that cashew nuts are fruits? Cashews are fruits that grow on a large tropical tree. Cashews can help boost your immune system, they are a great source of antioxidants and are rich in protein.     

 

  1. Hazelnuts

This super delicious power nut is commonly used in Turkish cuisine, no wonder it is one of the most flavourful cuisines, which is why Turkey is the world’s biggest producer of hazelnuts. Turkey produces nearly 75% of the global supply of hazelnuts. A hazelnut tree can live through generations, as it can continue to produce until it’s over 80 years of age. Ancient Romans used torches made of hazelnut branches at wedding ceremonies because they represented happiness and prosperity. Hazelnuts are very nutritious they are rich with vitamin B, vitamin E, iron, magnesium and fibers.

 

  1. Pistachios

Pistachio is another nut added to the list of fruits. Pistachios get their famous green colour from high antioxidant content found in them, which are the same antioxidants found in vegetables. A serving of 49 pistachio nuts have the same amount of protein found in one egg. In China a Pistachio is called the “happy nut”. In Chinese culture pistachios represent health, happiness and good fortune, no wonder why we can’t stop smiling while eating these delicious nuts. Pistachios are packed with nutrients and minerals such as vitamin B, copper, and potassium; in fact, pistachios contain more potassium than half a large banana.       

  1. Almonds

If you are a huge fan of almonds, then you should thank bees. Almond trees can’t really grow on their own without the help of bee pollen. Almonds are also popular among chocolate manufacturers, about 40% of the world’s almond crop is bought by them. Almonds are also very beneficial for your gut they contain a good number of probiotics that will help keep your gut and intestines healthy.  

 

  1. Walnuts

Walnut is the oldest tree to ever exist, they date all the way back to 12,000 years ago. Walnuts are the healthiest nuts, they contain a very high amount of omega 3, they can help delay aging and aid with weight loss. 

 

  1. Chestnuts

Nothing captures the spirit of the Holiday season like these delicious nuts. Chestnuts are the only nuts that contain vitamin C, they provide about 20% of your daily vitamin C intake. Chestnuts are the main ingredient in the French expensive treat Marron glacé, which is a dried and candied chestnut, it is extremely popular during Christmas time.

 

  1. Macadamia

Did you know that macadamia nuts tell farmers when they are ready to be harvested? When ripe macadamia nuts fall off the tree, that’s when farmers know it’s time for harvest. Macadamia nuts are very harmful for dogs, if you have a little pooch at home make sure to keep him away from macadamia nuts. Macadamia is rich with omega-7 fatty acids that help promote skin, nail, and hair health. They also may help reduce heart disease risks, can promote brain health, and reduce the risk of diabetes.

Now that you know so much about your favourite nuts head to the Waterfront Market which offers a wide variety of nuts, with more than 30 retailers offering amazing deals on local and imported nuts. If you are craving some cashew nuts or need for some pine nuts for a delicious Kebbeh recipe then Waterfront Market is the place to go.